{find JOY in the ordinary}

Today I will stop and listen to their laughter, I will breathe in their joy, I will play and be a part of their memories, not just the memory maker.

For me, the little things excite me the most. The small things fulfill me more than all the money in the world couldn’t buy. Its giving back, finding patience with that one person who seems to annoy you the most and also being satisfied with yourself.  We live in a busy, fast-paced, rapid world that seems to be not slowing down, but only getting faster by the second. We get caught up in school, work, gossip,and our phones, that we often forget the small things. We live in an instantly gratifying world where you can literally have anything in just a second. You can watch the newest music video, read the newest book, post anything, anywhere, from ANYTHING within just a few clicks.

Lately, I have noticed the small things more and more. I’ve also noticed how people don’t appreciate the small things like we should. As I sat eating my freshly baked coconut doughnut and my hot vanilla latte today at noon on a Saturday with my mom and sister, it made me happier than I honestly thought it would. Spontaneous little outings with the people you love can flutter your heart more than you would ever expect.

A happy heart makes the face cheerful,
    but heartache crushes the spirit – Proverbs 15:13

On New Years Eve, when everyone else my age was out at a party, or getting kissed at midnight, or on a snazzy vacation, I was baby sitting. I was sitting on the couch with my 2 and 4-year-old neighbors and I was at peace. I had that moment of “wow” where you realize what really is important in life. It’s not the extravagant gifts we receive, parties and popularity that makes us happy. That’s artificial happiness. It’s a craving, but not what we truly desire. We desire and deserve so much more than this world has to offer. We deserve God’s grace. His love. Trust me, His love is bigger than we can ever imagine, but in this hustle-bustle world we live in, it may be hard to take a breath, say a prayer, and feel genuine happiness. But without Him, we wouldn’t be able to find any joy at all. Think about that.Through Him is where we find the truest joy you will ever experience.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.  Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.- Romans 12:12

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.- Romans 15:13

Remember: We find joy when we least expect it & in the smallest of packages

One thought on “{find JOY in the ordinary}

  1. This article was so good. Well written and a great message! There is great truth in this. Keep up the good work! God is going to do great things through and with you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

