People Lovin’ People

I love people. It’s as simple as that; I love people. I love how everyone on this planet is unique in their own way and how although we live on one planet there are so many different cultures and ways of living among us. Think about it, 7.1 billion people in the world means 7.1 billion different stories to be told.

By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. – 1 John 3:16

There is a quote I absolutely love that goes like this,

“If our eyes saw souls instead of bodies, how very different our ideals of beauty would be.”

If you follow me on Pinterest (and if not then you should), you obviously know I love humans. I love pictures of people from all around the world and seeing people being genuinely happy with their lives. People tend to ask me, “Lauren, why do you always pin pictures of strange people on your Pinterest?” and to me, this question is not hard to answer at all, in fact, I enjoy answering it to see what people have to say. My answer is simple; I fall more and more in love with Jesus and the world around me when I see the amazing artistic power of our God by seeing how beautiful yet how different everyone is in God’s image. Some may say the humans on my Pinterest board are too old and wrinkly, that they look funny, or that they are dressed weird. Some say that the gorgeous girl with a her llama from Peru or the man with an aesthetic traditional Indian turban is bizarre, but when you realize how diverse this world is, it is actually quite astounding.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. – 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

The bible calls us to love people and it may be surprising, but I wasn’t always as fond of people as I am now. People use to scare me and I wasn’t as open to people. I thought hugs were freaky and talking to strangers wasn’t always a skill of mine, but when I did fall in love with Jesus I fell in love with people. I realized the importance of relationships with others through and centered in Christ. I fell in love with striking up a conversation with someone I may never have talked to before, I fell in love with hearing other people’s stories that they thirst to tell and with the magnificence of the human soul.

A priest once told me that to truly love Jesus, we must love people and to treat everyone we meet as a tabernacle ( a tabernacle is where the Most Holy Eucharist is reserved or in easier words is the place where they keep Jesus in a Catholic Church) . Treat everyone with respect, love and dignity, just as you would a tabernacle that preserves the Holy Eucharist. Everyone holds Christ within them and I knew that prior to hearing this, but the idea of treating everyone as a tabernacle honestly has impacted my life immensely. It is something to remember when you have an argument with your sister, when you are talking to maybe a not-so-nice person, when you stumble upon someone less fortunate than you or maybe even when thinking of yourself. Everyone has Christ inside of them even if they may be a different religion, look different from you, have an ugly attitude or is just a person you wouldn’t necessarily talk to . It’s a simple reminder that can help you see anyone you meet/already know in a different light: Treat everyone you meet as a tabernacle. 

Show respect even to people who don’t deserve it, not as a reflection of their character, but as a reflection of yours

Leave a Reply

