Law and Order: Christian Style

Imagine being on trial. You’re on trial for being convicted of the most heinous crimes in all of history, the only problem is; you have no idea what you did. You haven’t done anything out of the ordinary, you spoke to the same people, went to the same place, engaged in the same activities everyday but yet, were being found guilty. Now, you may be wondering, “Why on earth would I be on trial if I haven’t done anything?”. That’s when the tricky part comes in. This is a trial for those found guilty of being a Christian. As you know, not all criminals are found guilty…so, would you be found guilty of being a Christian?

For whoever keeps the whole law but fails in one point has become accountable for all of it – James 2:10

Lately, I’ve failed. I have been distracted by earthy things (vacation, technology, school, people, etc.) and that I have sadly put my faith on the back burner…and that STINKS.

I’m the kind of person who has few passions, but when i find a passion I immerse myself head on into that love, so when I disregard the things I love, for me  it’s writing and having Jesus time, I feel empty. Because of this emptiness I know I must change how I am living. This emptiness will not satisfy even the least of me, for I know that in order to reach my full potential in everything I do that I need Jesus.

For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me.- Psalm 51:3

The thing is, I know i am not the only one who struggles with finding time for Jesus. I’m human and I know I’m not perfect, but I follow and love a God who is. You wanna hear something crazy? The thought that has kept coming to my mind these past few weeks of emptiness has been, “Maybe when we are the quietest, God is the loudest.” because honestly, even though I haven’t actively been pursuing God like I normally do, He was still speaking to me as if I was.

But how are they to call on one in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in one of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone to proclaim him?  And how are they to proclaim him unless they are sent? As it is written, ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!’  But not all have obeyed the good news – Romans 10:14-16

That’s what is SO COOL about our awesome God. I have come to realize this Easter season that because HE lives, I too should live. Through Christ we are made fully alive, so to Him we owe everything.

Being found guilty of being a Christian doesn’t just mean being able to say, “yes I love Jesus praise God hallelujah”. No. Being a Christian is so much more than the words we proclaim, but the actions we do. God has not only died to give us life, but he has also given us the graces to boldly go forth and be a witness for him. That’s the least we can do, right?

Our life is a gift and meant to be given, so let’s give our life to Jesus by being found GUILTY of loving Him.

 

 

Leave a Reply

