Create In Me…

Yesterday, I became a confirmed Catholic. I am now equipped with all I need to be not just a soldier in Christ’s army, but one on the vanguard. I am ready to be in the front and use my talents to glorify the Lord and proclaim his goodness. It was a beautiful day that reminded me just how beautiful everything around us truly is.

I think in this reminder of beauty, it put in me a spark. This was a spark of creativity. I had been thinking of this for a while, but God is a Creator. He created us, the trees, the stars, but most importantly, He  created the Sacraments for us to actively participate in His own grace and creative process. That’s pretty epic.

“God saw all that he had made, and it was very good” -Genesis 1:31

Wow. God saw what he had made, and it was very good. Not just good, ordinary, not mediocre, but VERY good. God is a Creator, a creator who creates those who create art. Whoa, wait that seems confusing…but it’s not. God has planted this seed in all of us, a seed of creativity. We are meant to use this seed (or gift)  for His greater glory.

There are so many forms of art, from music, to photography, even dance. Then you have paintings, drawings, and graphic design. Lastly, there is my personal favorite; words.

Recently, I made a quiz for my friends to take and a lot of people thought my favorite form of art was photography, and while I enjoy that and find joy in it, my true happiness is found in writing. I believe the way words are expressed can be monumental and echo someone’s emotions in no way anything else can.

“Come, O Creator Spirit, visit our minds, fill with your grace the hearts you have created”.

 

Everyone around me has been given a gift, you included. Some are gifts of athleticism, some art, some communication, and some organization. The list goes on and on, but no matter what gift we do have, I think it is important to note that you were created for that gift not just by anyone, but by the Creator of the world.

“Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.” – 1 Peter 4:10

My heart and soul so full and overwhelmed with my passion of art. I cannot get over how much of myself is able to be expressed through words, paintings, and pictures that otherwise would just be bubbles of thoughts in my imagination.

“Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.” – Thomas Merton

Lastly, I think it is the coolest thing ever how art can bring people together. From art there has been a  connection created (haha)  that unites people of all different backgrounds, religions, even cultures and brings out one thing: emotion. Emotion brought out in art is not to be held to one person, but to be shared. Our art we create and our gifts we posses are to be expressed & enable others to feel something. If you have a gift, please, please, please share it. The Creator created you, a craftsman, to spread your gifts for His glory. You are art. You are a creation, but also, you were made to be a creator. 

Leave a Reply

