Short and Sweet: Going Gold

 

First off, I’m sorry I haven’t been posting as much, but you know how life is… CHAOTIC!!

If you know me, then you know this month is Childhood Cancer Awareness Month and as a survivor and advocate, I have been putting so much effort and energy into raising awareness and fundraising. I can honestly say, the support I have received from my friends this month has been so uplifting  and made me realize that there is a reason that I am doing what I’m doing.

Cancer was one of my biggest trials I have ever experienced, but also one of my greatest triumphs. I can say that with confidence as I know that this is also true for many of my other friends who have been on the same journey as me.

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,
Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”- Dr. Seuss

When something affects your life in the way cancer does, it puts a passion in you. A passion to change the unforgiving and fight so that another kid doesn’t have to go through what you went through. This year has been an eye opener because I lost one of my closest camp (camp sunshine, which is a camp for kids with cancer) friends. She had been fighting for almost 10 years now and after 5 relapses, numerous surgeries, many lives changed, and excruciating pain, God saw she needed some rest.

That was hard.

 I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory about to be revealed to us. – Romans 8:18

But what is incredible is that the faith I had gained not only in God, but in this cancer community has totally made every single part of my journey worth it. When Lindsey died this year, I was heartbroken. It sucked because this was the time I truly thought she was gonna beat cancer and be free, turns out she is free, but not how I expected.

This fire I have inside me I credit to Lindsey. The fact that someone so special like Lindsey could pass away, means ANY of us could pass away. WoooOooOW, right in the heart, right?

Childhood cancer deserves to be noticed// we deserve to be heard// and we most definitely deserve more than 4% of government funding.

Guys, please spread awareness and go gold during the month of September (and every month). If you don’t do it for me, do it for Lindsey.

Thanks for your support,

Lauren

 

 

Leave a Reply

