The Saint Within Us All

 

If I have learned one thing over the years, it is that we are all called to be saints. Saints to me are normal people with the most simple, yet heroic virtue. They are the kind of people you want in your life as your best friend, significant other, and even everyday-church-going bud. You’re probably thinking..”Lauren, I am no saint.”, but get this…YOU ARE (or you are at least called to be)!!

 “For, as I can testify, they voluntarily gave according to their means, and even beyond their means,  begging us earnestly for the privilege of sharing in this ministry to the saints—  and this, not merely as we expected; they gave themselves first to the Lord and, by the will of God, to us.” – 2 Corinthians 8:3-5

Today I had extraordinary plans and I was super stoked. I had helped organize a Gold Out for Childhood Cancer at my school, but unfortunately, I came down with bronchitis and a double ear infection and was unable to make it. I was bummed. As my mom brought me my medicine this morning, she said something that struck me. She said, “Lauren, this is so saintly. This is the act of a saint: being able to do good for others, and unable to see the outcome. You are my hero and this is the humility of a saint.” Now, as I was unable to reply due to how groggy and weak I was, but my mind and heart I guess were at war. My mind was like “Girl this isn’t what a saint would do. A saint would build up the strength, get their butt out of bed, and go to the stinkin’ pep rally.”. While on the other hand, my heart was telling me that my mom was on to something. Lucky enough, I follow my heart.

People are often unreasonable, illogical and self centered;
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives;
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies;
Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you;
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight;
Build anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous;
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow;
Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough;
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

You see, in the end, it is between you and your God;
It was never between you and them anyway. – Anyway Prayer By Mother Teresa

This prayer to me is the epitome of Sainthood. From the wise words of Saint Mother Teresa, she reminds us that the world is a nasty place. Accidents happen, nature takes its toll, people are often very ignorant, but we must do what we gotta do anyway.

I know my mind is all over the place, but I think saints freaking rule. I mean my Confirmation Saint, Saint Juliana Falconeri, the Eucharist disappeared and left an emblem on her chest, St.Catherine of Siena (my other hero), she didn’t even know how to write, yet she is one of the greatest Church Doctors of all time, Saint Padre Pio, he had stigmata AND levitated while in prayer. I mean, the fact that these are “normal” people who sinned just like us, blows my mind. The fact that God gives each and every one of us a chance to reach this destitute of holiness blows my mind.

The road to ultimate holiness and bliss (heaven) is a hard one, I mean, Jesus said it himself,Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the road is easy that leads to destruction, and there are many who take it. For the gate is narrow and the road is hard that leads to life, and there are few who find it.”(Matthew 7:13-14)

To be a saint isn’t easy, but it is small virtuous acts such as  wisdom, understanding, counsel, knowledge, fortitude,piety, and fear of the Lord that will lead us into the light of Eternal Life.

Look around, there is a saint for ANYTHING, so pick a passion, do good, and strive to be the Patron Saint of whatever you could possibly imagine. Hopefully, you’ll see me one day as the Patron Saint of Large Dimples and Boldness…the blog wasn’t named by itself (;

So join me in being bold for HIS kingdom and striving to bring out all of our inner saints.

Leave a Reply

