Short and Sweet: Rooted

As you therefore have received Christ Jesus the Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving.- Colossians 2:6-7 

I sure do love retreats. I love the time of fun fellowship, the lifelong friendships that are established, but most importantly, to grow closer to Christ. This past weekend I went on my school’s annual F.L.A.M.E Retreat and I can say it was such a liberating time.

With being sick these past weeks, it was so nice to get out and just dive right into my faith in my favorite place in the world: the mountains. The small group I led was a group of my peers whom I had known just as acquaintances, but this past weekend we truly became a family. It didn’t matter what we looked like, the color of our skin, not our religious position because we all melded together so beautifully and placed every ounce of our trust not only in each other, but in the loving hands of Christ.

I pray that, according to the riches of his glory, he may grant that you may be strengthened in your inner being with power through his Spirit, and that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith, as you are being rooted and grounded in love. – Ephesians 3:16-17

Also, this weekend I gave my first ever true witness. I sat on stage and gave a witness allowing the innermost being of my heart to shine through on all my peers hoping and praying that they may receive a message of hope out of what I have been through. I’ll be honest, before I gave my talk I was a wreck. But afterward, there was a time of Adoration. Before this time of Adoration, I was kind of a mess, but a happy mess. After I gave my talk, I received a standing ovation; I was not expecting that at all. Also, my family (small group) had just shared every one of our struggles and it was such a vulnerable, but unifying time.

Adoration is where I feel most content and most connected with God. In this time of Adoration, I was just admiring Him and His True Presence in the Eucharist when I felt this hand of love envelop me. In that moment I knew God was telling me, “well done”. In this moment, I knew that my witness had touched the lives of many and I was meant to continue sharing my witness throughout my life. I will forever love writing about Him and speaking of Him for as long as I live.

This weekend was not only so beneficial in my faith life, but I saw some of my closest friends have conversion moments and accept Christ into their lives. I am so exceptionally blessed to have been a part of F.L.A.M.E team on the retreat and know that the lives Christ touched this weekend will go on and share His good news!

 

 

Leave a Reply

