Lent Day 1: Dust

Gospel of the day: Matthew 6:1-6, 16-18

I always wondered about Ash Wednesday. Why it was so crowded at mass? Why does everyone care to come to a mass that isn’t even a holy day of obligation? Why do so many people come to mass on a random Wednesday, but fail to join us every Sunday for Holy Eucharist? 

This question has been boggling my mind for years now, until tonight at youth group it occurred to me that people didn’t just come to show off ashes, but that there was a deeper calling in their hearts to be united with their own humble beginnings and the suffering of Christ. 

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.-2 Corinthians 5:21

I was asked, “What are you going to do this Lenten season to grow closer to God in your prayer life?” And honestly, I didn’t know yet. I knew I wanted to further my relationship with God, but I just wasn’t sure how:: fortunately, my mama always pushes me in the right direction, so here we are!

I’m a firm believer that words appear in someone’s life for a reason and that everything has a ripple effect, therefore, for the next 40 days I shall write. I will write about the message on my heart, the aching for my Savior and my sorrow that he carries, I will write about the kindness of others, where I act as Christ in this world, as well as where I have failed to be the hands and feet of Christ. 

I wear the ashes because I’m a sinner. I wear the cross because I have a Savior. – Father Mike Schmitz 

We all come from humble beginnings, and no, I’m not talking about working our way up the social ladder and the Drake song “Started from the bottom now we’re here”. No, I’m talking about ashes. God created us from nothing. Nothing. 

…you are dust, and to dust you shall return” – Genesis 3:19

Let that sink in. 

God created us, every little molocule within us was created by Him. Without Him, we wouldn’t even be here. We wouldn’t have a reason so be here. But as you know, one day our earthly time will come to an end. When this day comes, I pray that I will return to the ashes in which I was made; that I will be everything my Lord and Savior created me to be and will have realeased all pocession and connection to this Earth.

This Lenten season, let’s realize the victory of the cross wouldn’t have been possible without the sorrow of the ashes. 

Leave a Reply

