Lent Day 2: Daily Cross

Gospel of the day: Luke 9:22-25

I’ve been in a lot of pain. Pain that feels so crippling I don’t even want to sit up. Pain where I can’t bend down. I can’t run, I can’t do any normal activity without feeling the tense muscle spasm and pressure in my back.

Today in particular, I woke up with a sharp pain in my side that I have been coping with for a while. It hurt, but I knew I had stuff to do. I have to go to school, go to extracurricular activities, and live a normal life. When asked if “everything was OK?”, of course I said, “Yes, I’m fine, just in a lot of pain.” I mean, what else can I do?

 Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord rescues them from them all.” – Psalm 34:19

When reading today’s Gospel, I was struck by the words found in this passage. Jesus is explaining that through suffering, we are united to him. One verse that especially drew me in to this unity of Christ through suffering is the following: “If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” 

Wow. 

We are so much more than the aches, pains, and turmoil found in this world. If we dwell in our own sorrows, how are we suppose to 1.) care for others and empathize with their suffering and 2.) grow in holiness by allowing the graces and victory of the cross to pour out upon us. 

It made me think that through my suffering, I am never alone. Christ suffered one of the greatest deaths in all of history for YOU AND ME. 

Let’s not complain about the insignificances of this world, let’s embrace our trials with a brave face and open heart and CARRY OUR CROSSES

Leave a Reply

