Lent day 3: What do I Know? 

Gospel of the day: Matthew 9:14-15

So, Ed Sheeran’s new album came out today and if you can’t tell: I’M VERY EXCITED. 

While I was listening to the “DIVIDE” album, I found a song that stuck me so deeply. There is a simplicity, yet complexity of these lyrics and message that I just had to share. 

The song is called “What do I know?” And it goes: Love can change the world in a moment, but what do I know? Love can change the world in a moment. 

And honestly, what do I know? 

We all say that this world could change, but fail to actively pursue peace and change. We find ourselves behind a computer screen, writing mean messages, spreading gossip, looking at impure media, and listening to explicit songs just praying the world will change. 

The Bible tells us in numerous places to be merciful, peacemakes, and stand up for what is right. One particular example is found in Esther–

 For if you keep silence at such a time as this, relief and deliverance will rise for the Jews from another quarter, but you and your father’s family will perish. Who knows? Perhaps you were created for  such a time as this.’- Esther 4:14

I love that. “Perhaps you were created for such a time as this.” This speaks volumes. We can’t remain silent. We can’t wait for the next generation to hopefully cure the dissary this world is in.  If it’s not us, than who? We must love one another as the brother and sisters that we are without complaint. We were made to LOVE and be LOVED

This world is never going to change if we don’t LOVE one another.. but what do I know? 

Leave a Reply

