Lent day 4: All Things Pass

Gospel of the day: Luke 5:27-32

Ah, Confession. A sacrament I fail to participate in far too frequently. But this Saturday morning, I had a nudge to go, so I went. 

It’s mind boggling how easy it is to receive the graces God offers us through the Priest in persona Christi, but how often we still choose the chains of sin over the graces of freedom. 

While confessing, I have had some personal struggles lately and I was truly curious on how to act about this situation. While explaining to the priest, he said, “You’ve done nothing wrong.”. Why then do I feel so heavy on my soul just because one person has, if you will, “beef” with me?

Throughout the confession he kept saying “all things will pass”. That’s a relief. 

Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.” – Matthew 24:35

In today’s gospel, Jesus partakes in a meal and fellowship with a tax collector named Levi. In biblical times, tax collectors were like the worst of the worst if ya know what I’m saying. But Jesus (being the rad dude that he is) told Levi, “Follow me.” Doesn’t Jesus call all of us to follow him? Not just the holy, the sick, the poor, but of course, the sinners. 

And of course the desciples had to ask Jesus, “Yo, why you hanging out with tax collectors and not us?” 

Why does Jesus hang out with tax collectors? He doesn’t care about their sin, he just wants full control over their hearts!! How is he going to obtain their love if he doesn’t reach out to them? 

That’s what the sacrament of confession is all about. It’s Jesus actively pursuing a relationship with us despite our trials, sins, and unnecessary baggage. 

Jesus answered them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” – Luke 5:31-32

It’s times like these when I learn to love the sacrament of confession! 

All things in this world shall pass. All of sins, all negativity, all drama, this is temporary. The goal is Heaven. The goal will always be Heaven. So to maintain this goal, we must find Truth, grab it with both arms and run. Run to God with all our worries. Run into the confessional with all of our sins. Run into our brothers and sisters and prove our love to them. 

To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

All things shall pass. Let the truth set you free. 

Leave a Reply

