Lent day 6: Kill Em With Kindness 

Gospel of the day: Matthew 6:7-15

Have you ever heard the Selena Gomez song “kill em with kindness”(If not you should because it’s bomb)? Well, it’s one of my favorite songs. My friends often laugh when they hear this song and go, “Hey Lauren it’s your song!!” And I love it not just because the incredible SelGo sings it, but because it has a message.

It starts out:

The world can be a nasty place

You know it, I know it, yeahhh

We don’t have to fall from grace

Put down the weapons you fight with

And kill ’em with kindness

The message to be kind is not said enough in today’s society. I know your teacher’s tell you to be kind at school, your parent tells you to be kind to your siblings, and everyday, Ellen tells us,”Be kind to one another.” But what does KIND really mean?

The natives showed us unusual kindness. Since it had begun to rain and was cold, they kindled a fire and welcomed all of us around it.” – Acts 28:2

Kind is being friendly, being generous. Kindness is giving someone a ‘get well soon card’ or maybe holding the door open for an old couple at the grocery store. I like to think of kindness as a simple act of gratitude or compassion meant to be used on a daily basis.

Here are some ways my friend and I try to exemplify kindness in our everyday lives:

1.) SMILE. Smile. Smile. Smile. People say a smile goes a long way, and I believe them. Just think of a time a stranger has smiled at you. It makes you feel loved, doesn’t it?

2.) GET OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE. If you ask anyone I’m close to they will all say the same thing.. that I’m awkward. Ok, I may be awkward, but at least I’m trying to expand my horizons by going out of my way to interact with others. For example, the other day I saw a girl I hadn’t seen in 3 years. What do I do? I’m in my car and roll down the window and yell, “HEY GIRL!!!” Yea.. let that sink in. It was awkward, but at least I made an effort.

3.) JUST APPRECIATE PEOPLE!! When people know they are appreciated and you validate their worth as a human being, it’s a good feeling. Do minor things to simply improve someone else’s day that allows them to know they are loved.

In a world where you can be anything, be kind.”

If you see a pattern between these 3 things above, you’re right. Kindness isn’t difficult, in fact, it’s probably one of the easiest things to do in day-to-day life (like telling people when they have food in their teeth or when their fly is down).

I’m sorry if this is repetitive, but our world is full of negativity. It’s full of hate, discrimination, and injustices. We are here to be the hands and feet of Christ. Christ says to us in Matthew 25:40, “Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.”

So in this world of darkness, be a light. Allow Christ to shine through you and allow kindness to overcome you. Let kindness be your shield to the weapons of evil. And simply, kill em with kindness.

Leave a Reply

