Lent day 8: Ask. Seek. Knock. 

Gospel of the day: Matthew 7:7-12

In today’s gospel, it starts out with Jesus saying, “Ask, and it will be given you; search, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened for you.” 

But what do these words mean?

When I hear this these words, I think of a relationship with God (as we all should). I know God is always dwelling within us, but sometimes it’s hard to find His guidance when we are caught up in such a wicked, worldly storm.

Let’s start with ASK: First, I want you to ask yourself, “Who am I?” When that question is asked to me, it’s hard to verbalize my answer. Who am I? I’m a daughter, a sister, a writer, an adventurer, a goof, and a lovely creation of God. That’s who I am and I’m proud. But you are you?

Next is SEARCH: Once we define who we are, it’s time to ask ourselves another question. This question is,” What am I searching for?” Are you searching for love? Maybe happiness? How about a job or a pay raise? Whatever you are searching for, let it be for the good. Let it be from the goodness of your heart and something that will better your life in the long run. Don’t waste your time searching for temporary happiness, find eternal happiness in God.

Lastly, KNOCK:This is my favorite out of the three. When I hear the word knock, the first thing that comes to my mind is a door. But this brings up the question, “Who is knocking and where re they knocking?” Who is knocking? Are you knocking on the gates of Heaven trying to sneak a quick convo with Jesus? Is Jesus knocking at your heart to let him in? Maybe your neighbor is knocking on your house door to give you some homeade cookies. Whoever is knocking, we must guard our hearts with the upmost protection. Let us open the door and have the door opened for our good, and turn away all evil that come our way.

The doors will be opened to those who are bold enough to knock.”

This Gospel ends with Jesus saying, “Do to others whatever you would have them do to you.” With this being said, whoever is asking, seeking, and knocking, let us be the ones to answer their questions about the faith, guide them to God, and hold the door wide open as they fall deeper into His love.

Leave a Reply

