Third Sunday of Lent: Glimmer of Hope

Gospel of the day: John 4:5-42

Ah, Mass. A time to just reflect on the past week and prepare for the next. Today, it was just my sister and I at Church and I kinda love being with family at mass. We are always so busy during the week or on the weekend that we either end up all going to different masses or if we are at the same one, we all have different jobs.

Today I could just sit and take in the message.

The message that stuck out to me today was HOPE. It started in the second reading when Paul said in Romans 5:5, “And hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” 

I love that. Hope does not disappoint.

You know why hope doesn’t disappoint? Because God doesn’t disappoint. In the last sentence of the Gospel, which is the story of the Samaritan Woman, the Samaritans are talking about belief and how now that they have had the hope and finally experienced God’s love, they believe. It goes like this:

“We no longer believe because of your word;
for we have heard for ourselves,
and we know that this is truly the savior of the world.” -John 4:42

This message of hope and experiencing it for ourselves reminded me of earlier in the week when I encountered someone less fortunate. On Wednesday, my mom and I had to drive back from the city when pulling off our exit there was a homeless man. Now, I always keep granola bars with me to give in case i get in this situation, but it never actually happens. But this time, it did.

When given the opportunity to make someone’s day a little brighter it gives me hope. I saw this gentleman’s face light up as he continuously said, “God bless you. God bless you. God bless you.”

I had never seen anyone so excited over a granola bar. This made my heart happy, but also incredibly broken. The man and I were both almost in tears for two completely different reasons, yet, I have a feeling we both gave each other hope.

How simple it is to imitate the love Christ had for the least of us, but so often we pass the opportunity. We just remember there will be a next time.. but what if there is no next time?

It’s time for us to open our hearts and be somebody’s glimmer of hope in this dim world. Let us humble ourselves. If Jesus can humble himself enough to die on the cross, we can humble ourselves enough to offer a hand to less fortunate brothers and sisters.

 

Leave a Reply

