Lent day 18: Nothing I Hold On To

Gospel of the day: Matthew 18:21-35

I lean not on my own understanding

My life is in the Hands of the Maker of Heaven

I Give it all to you God,

Trusting that you’ll make something beautiful out of me.

Whenever I hear the words in this song, “Nothing I Hold On To”, I can’t help but cry. To let out all my anxieties and worries that are holding me down. All the grudges and sorrow I hold from this world. All negativity and injustices that separate us from the wonderful, wonderful Kingdom of Heaven.

In today’s Gospel, Peter is questioning Jesus about forgiveness. Now, Peter believes that he can just forgive his enemies 7 times and be done, but Jesus is like “Nah, bro”. Jesus is calling us to continuously forgive. To have an open heart and welcome even those who trespass onto us.

This is where the song comes in.

We think that all injustices in this world should be handled by God and God alone, but in fact, that’s why God sent you and me to this world. We are here to speak for those who can’t, love those who seem unlovable, and forgive those who seem unforgivable.

This world seems to be infinite. Like a never ending cycle of wicked events, violent attacks, and all around uncertainty. But, we can’t spend our lives holding on to the problems of the world. We are called to forgive. We are only human, and humans make mistakes.

At that, the servant fell down, did him homage, and said,
‘Be patient with me, and I will pay you back in full.’
Moved with compassion the master of that servant
let him go and forgave him the loan.” – Matthew 18:26-27

God placed every one of us here to make a difference. We are all called to love without borders and forgive at all times. Why forgive 77 times when we could forgive 7X70. At the end of the Gospel, Jesus explains that if we do not forgive nor show any mercy, “so will my heavenly Father do to you.” That’s pretty explicit.

We need God to guide us. We need God to help us let go of all the grudges we hold and realize that there is nothing we can’t do when He is on our side.

In every community, there is work to be done. In every nation, there are wounds to heal. In every heart there is power to do it.” – Marianne Williamson

This darkness that seems all-consuming WILL come to an end. The light you have been desiring WILL prevail. He is making something beautiful out of you and me.

I’m asking you today to allow God to consume you from the inside out. Allow nothing but Him and all His glory tp influence your decisions. He is holding you in the palm of His hand, oh, lovely one. Know that there is nothing from this world to hold on to, only blessings and grace that come from above. 

Leave a Reply

