Lent day 19: Exhausted

Gospel of the day: Matthew 5:17-19

Today, I am exhausted. I hate not being wide awake and ready to jump at every oppertunity, but sometimes, you just get tired. 

“Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.” -Psalm‬ ‭62:5-8‬ 

Last night I had a really hard time falling asleep and hopefully that won’t affect the content of this blog too much.. lol. But here’s what is on my heart today:

I know that during this Lent I have talked about a plethora of topics about our relationship with God, but today the Gospel message had me asking myself a question, “Am I living up to a worthy life?”

Are you?

In today’s gospel I love when Jesus says,”I have come not to abolish but to fulfill.” He has come to fulfill that magic life each and every one of us is called to live!!!

Even when we are exhausted beyond reach  and our brains feel like mush and it hurts our eyes to shut them because they are so heavy: HE HAS COME TO FUFILL!

Even in this tiredness, God is calling you and me to live a worthy life. A life that is not focused on the suffering of this world, but the joy of the next. 

In my life, I’ve realized that loving God can be exhausting. It takes a lot out of you to pour every ounce of our being into one thing, but what I’ve also found is the reward is magnificent. Loving God is exhausting, but so worth it. And you know what’s even cooler? Allowing Him to love you will wake you up from this sleepy, sleepy world into a newly revived sense of a truly fulfilling life. 

Leave a Reply

