Fourth Sunday of Lent: Awake

Gospel of the day: John 9:1-41

Today is my favorite kind of day. A day where you can relax, but also be rejuvenated. It’s a Sunday, which means I wake up, make sure all my homework is done, hang around for a while, and then go to mass. A nice day. But tonight after mass I had the honor to attend a concert by none other than Audrey Assad (& Andrew Peterson, shout out to you). Her voice is unexplainable. She has a grace that covers the stage and her vocals are effortless.

‘Jesus answered,”While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”- John 9:5

But before having the opportunity to hear Audrey sing, I went to Mass. I was a lector for the second reading (Ephesians 5:8-14), which happens to be one of my favorites. This reading so simply explains that we must always choose light. In a world that drowns us with negativity and darkenss, we are shwon that God is good and He is the light. Just as we go to sleep when it it dark and wake up in the light, this too is how our faith works.

When we are in the midst of a time of desolation, it is easy to see darkness. It’s easy to ignore all traces of light and just focus on the vast emptiness of this world. This is where Jesus steps in.

“I am the light of the world, says the Lord;
whoever follows me will have the light of life.”- John 8:12

At times, we are simply tired. We give up on findinf the light and slip into darkness. This is when God calls us. He calls us to WAKE UP. One of the reasons this reading is my favorite is because it reminds me of a song by one of my favorite people ever, Ike Ndolo, called “Awake, O Sleeper” and it goes:

“In the darkest times of life
When our lights refuse to shine
You are there, you are there

Awake o sleeper
Arise from slumber
Christ is calling your name”

I love the image of being woken up or opening eyes to the light for the first time after long period of darkness. Just as in the Gospel today Jesus allows a blind man to see, He too is calling you, begging you, to open your eyes. God wants you to AWAKE and see the goodness of His light.

Here’s praying that we may we wake up, step out, and love like God.

Leave a Reply

