Lent day 23: Extraordinary

Gospel of the day: John 4:43-54

My mind is drawing a blank. As I sit here trying to find the right words, my mind has drawn to a blank. I was recounting my day, wondering if I’ve had anything worth sharing happen today, but the truth is, I haven’t. I’ve led an ordinary day in the midst of an ordinary life, but as I read today’s Gospel, I realized it’s okay that my day was ordinary. You know why? Because I have a God who turns ordinary into extraordinary. 

Today’s Gospel tells the story of Jesus healing the official’s son.

I’m sure we’ve all heard this story, and if not, you’ve heard Jesus heal others in the past, but today I noticed something different. I had never noticed before that the officials had mentioned the exact time Jesus said the words, “Your son will live.” They recall that at the exact time Jesus said those words, the son began to heal.

Now, prayer is powerful, but sometimes our prayers aren’t answered right away. In this specific story, Jesus answers that prayer and petition immediately. It is hard to remember that we run on worldly time when God has no time limit. The ill boy in the passage has a ticking time bomb, but God doesn’t. This is just another way to remember how extraordinary our God is.

“The former things will not be remembered,
    nor will they come to mind.
 But be glad and rejoice forever
    in what I will create…”- Isaiah 65:17-18

It’s crazy to me that in a word filled with such ordinary occurrences such as sickness and death, there is a God who loves us so much He can heal us within an instant. It is hard when we lose loved ones and we often question God’s timing, but I cannot explain how extraordinary God is.

God is longing to make this neverending, ordinary day extraordinary. All you have to do is ask.

Leave a Reply

