Lent day 27: Sent

Gospel of the day: John 7:1-2,10,25-30

“So Jesus cried out in the temple area as he was teaching and said, “You know me and also know where I am from. Yet I did not come on my own, but the one who sent me, whom you do not know, is true. I know him, because I am from him, and he sent me.””- John 7:28-29

I love when Jesus says He did not come on His own terms, but rather on the Father’s. As my family was driving down to Florida today, we saw a lot of signs. Some billboards were advertising restaurants, shops, even a pet funeral. But one common theme was that of the Pro-Life movement and how each human person is sent by God. 

There is something that speaks volumes about strategically placing billboards advertising against abortions and acriciflg choosing life in a place where millions of people travel every year. 

Imagine being in a road with nothing except endless fields of grass, ransom trees, a few cows, and a sign that says “Smile, your mom chose life and so should you!”. That not only keeps a person looking forward to their surroundings, but it spreads a message. 

In today’s Gospel we hear Jesus explaining how He has been sent. Just as Jesus has been sent by the Father, so have you and me. We have all been chosen by God and we all have a specific mission on this Earth.

“For this is what the Lord has commanded us: “‘I have made you[a] a light for the Gentiles, that you may bring salvation to the ends of the earth.’”- Acts 13:47

Life is often surrounded by a “go,go,go” mentality. In this “going” we tend to forget where we come from. It’s times to take a step back and realize that God send you to be where you are in this exact moment. 

I saw a quote today thats said , “This is the wrong generation for people with good hearts.” 

I disagree.  

I believe that everything happens for a reason. In the midst of a dark world, be the light that God sent to shine amongst His people. Know that YOU are worthy and you have been SENT

Leave a Reply

