Lent day 29: Alive in Spirit 

Gospel of the day: John 11:1-45

First off, I am so very so I did not write yesterday. I am on spring break and I had a jam packed day and I was simply exhausted. I don’t know how often this next week I will be posting, but I will try my hardest to blog everyday. No promises. 

In today’s Gospel we hear the story of Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead. It’s a story where we see both the human and Divine persons within Christ. He proves His Divine power by telling Lazarus to come out of the tomb, but he also exposes His humanity in John 11:35 where it says, “Jesus wept.” 

This shows us the friendship between Jesus and Lazarus. The friendship that Jesus was so deeply saddened by the death of His friend regardless of His ability to raise him from the dead. In the story we hear that both Martha and Mary say to Jesus, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” 

He said to me: Son of man, these bones are the whole house of Israel! They are saying, “Our bones are dried up, our hope is lost, and we are cut off.” Therefore, prophesy and say to them: Thus says the Lord GOD: “Look! I am going to open your graves; I will make you come out of your graves.” – Ezekiel 37:11-12

Even though both Mary and Martha had a strong faith and a virtual belief in the power of Jesus, the death of their brother tested their faith. It tested their beliefs by Jesus not acting on their time, but rather on His. 

This Lenten season we must remeber that we are not acting on our time. We are acting on God’s time. These 40 days are a time to reflect on our own faith and belief. I love what the priest said at mass yesterday he said that this Lenten season is a time to 1.) Renew our faith, 2.) Deepen our hope, 3.) Extend our love to all. 

“If the Spirit of the one who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, the one who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also, through his Spirit that dwells in you.”- Romans 8:11

The readings today tell us that death of the body is meaningless. Well, I mean, it matters but not that much. What matters is our spirit. We must remain alive in spirit at all times. So this Lenten season, renew your faith in God’s ability to bring you back to life, deepen your hope of eternal life after bodily death, and extend your love to those who need to feel alive in spirit. 

Leave a Reply

